Sunday, June 13, 2010

Covenant - In Times Before The Light

More Norwegian black metal, but not nekro like Mayhem, this is a symphonic synth based classic by Covenant, or The Kovenant as they are known today. In Times Before The Light was released by a small label called Mordgrimm in 1995, and I think this was their only release. This is the original mix and straight from the original cd. Other version has also been released, a industrial circus version in 2002, with lots of new sounds and samples and a remastered version in 2007, with bonus tracks. I havent heard the latest one, so I cant comment on the sound. But the industrial circus version was a fun ride, and is worth checking out. Covenant released a couple of good albums after this on, but their latest was really bad and they are "working" on a follw-up, but dont get your hopes up, they have been "working" on that one for years, and I doubt we will hear it soon....

Judas Eukaryote

Line up:
N. Blackheart aka Lex Icon– vocals, drums, synth
T. Blackheart aka Psy Coma – guitars, bass, synth

01. Towards the Crown of Nights
02. Dragonstorms
03. The Dark Conquest
04. From the Storm of Shadows
05. Night of the Blackwinds
06. The Chasm
07. Visions of a Lost Kingdom
08. Through the Eyes of the Raven
09. In Times Before the Light
10. Monarchs of the Mighty Darkness


No comments:

Post a Comment